ipsy March 2015

I’ve been subscribed to ipsy for around 5 months now and my bags keep getting better and better each time. Here’s the breakdown: it’s $10/month and they send you a cute little pink package with a reusable zipper bag inside which is then filled with 5 makeup/beauty products (not tea bags or granola bars…*cough* Birchbox…).

I think that the key to getting products best suited to your taste, besides filling out the personalized beauty quiz when you sign up, is rating and reviewing your products each month. The first month I was not too impressed, but I kept filling out my reviews and they’ve gotten substantially better from there on out. Here’s what I got in March’s bag:

IMG_0086_2

1. Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Renewal Creme Oil
While I don’t love getting hair products in my ipsy bag, this one was nice. I like to run it through my ends after I get out of the shower and it feels nice and hydrating.

IMG_0081_2

2. Dr. Brandt’s Pores-no-More Anti-Aging Mattifying Lotion
I was super excited to try this because I have such oily skin and I can never find a good primer/pore-filler that doesn’t make me look even more greasy. This has a faint minty smell and it does quite a good job at keeping my T-zone matte (although, after a while, I have to blot and powder). Also, it dries really quickly when I rub it in, so I feel like I can never get it where I want it to go…

IMG_0085_2

3. NYX Butter Lipstick in Little Susie
I love NYX products but I have surprisingly never tried the butter lipsticks from them. I really like the formula and it literally does feel like butter on my lips.Β The color is really beautiful and doesn’t make my teeth look yellow – woo!

IMG_0082_2

4. Chella Ivory Lace Highlighter Pencil
The formula for this is s-u-u-uper creamy. Like, I was swatching it on the back of my hand and there was a literal indent in the product. Because it’s so creamy, it’s really easy to apply – I used a little under my brows for a highlight and it was beautiful!

IMG_0084_2

5. Marsk Mineral Eyeshadow in Lucky Penny
I haven’t used this on my eyes yet, but the swatch was really metallic and beautiful. I’m really excited to try a few eye looks with this because I don’t own any pigments in this coppery color.

IMG_0083_2

Are you subscribed to ipsy? What do you think of your products this month?

23 thoughts on “ipsy March 2015

  1. Elise says:

    I got the exact same bag! I loved the highlighter pencil. Bummed about the NYX shade – it totally made my teeth look yellow!
    Haven’t tried the other three but I have high hopes. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Meredith says:

      That’s awesome! I haven’t worn the lipstick out yet, but I liked when I tried it on for a little bit. I wish I had gotten the nude shade, but it is what it is! Let me know how you like the other stuff! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. hunnybunnysoph says:

    That’s awesome that you received the NYX Butter Lipstick in Little Susie! I was swatching a few colours in store just the other day and made up my mind to order the Little Susie shade online (I wanted to get other stuff that was not in stock in the store at the time). It’s a great colour!! Enjoy your Ipsy bag πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

