Rimmel Matte Lip Velvet Apocalips Review and Swatches

Hey y’all. I’m so horrible at juggling my schedule. This week has been crazy busy for me with midterms. Get this: just today, I had an exam, a paper due, and two presentations. I’ve (again) been a little MIA and it’s killing me!

IMG_5981

Anyway, I recently picked up these Rimmel Matte Lip Velvet Apocalips in three shades. I got mine at Meijer where they were having a BOGO 1/2 Off on all Rimmel products, so I got three colors and one foundation. I got (from left to right in the picture below) Atomic Rose, a peachy pink nude (which pulls more peach on my skintone), Meteoric Matte, a rich berry color that is my favorite of the bunch, and Burning Lava, a bright cooler-toned red.

IMG_5974

The formula of these reminds me of the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams – they are very creamy and pigmented – but I find that they don’t last as long. I get about 3-4 hours of wear out of these before they start to 1. get that gross flakey effect, 2. wear off in the center of my mouth, and 3. feather a little bit around the edges (you can see this in my hand swatches). Another thing is that I don’t think they dry to a true matte, like the NYX ones, which also means that they aren’t as drying or uncomfortable on the lips.

IMG_0074_2 IMG_0075_2 IMG_0076_2

If any of you have tried the original Apocalips (which I loved), you know about the applicator. It’s like a doe-foot applicator but it has a little indent in the center. I really don’t like this because I find it doesn’t do its job; it doesn’t deposit any more color where you need it and it just seems unnecessary. There is a little bit of a scent (not overpowering, in my opinion), but I’m not even going to try to describe it. No clue.

IMG_0063 IMG_0069

Overall, I like these because they are really pigmented and they don’t make my lips feel overly dry like other matte lip products. However, the lasting power is limited so if you’re concerned about that, I would check out the Rimmel Provocalips!

6 thoughts on “Rimmel Matte Lip Velvet Apocalips Review and Swatches

Leave a Reply

