NEW Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Eyeshadow Palette w/ Swatches

I’m a sucker for matte eyeshadow.
Well, for matte anything, really (and Matt Bomer, woah baby).

This palette has really good reviews. Apparently it’s 12 never-before-seen exclusive eyeshadows, all of which are completely matte. Lord have mercy. This palette is beauuuutiful.

At first, I wasn’t wow-ed by the packaging (and I’m a sucker for cute packaging), but it didn’t really deter me from wanting to get my hands on it.

IMG_0005

I mean, it’s pretty cute. The gold is beautiful but it’s nothing exciting. But it’s grown on me a lot. It looks really cute in my collection, and the purple is unlike anything else I have. I will say, it collects fingerprints like MAD.

Now, the eyeshadows. They’re beautiful colors and you can do just about any look. Smokey, everyday, evening, soft brown, you name it.
IMG_0004

IMG_0003

Look at that reflection. Hey, nice curtains, Mere.Β (On a side note, I kind of hate the names of the shadows. Super mom? Honestly? Laaaame.)

Sometimes, they can be a little chalky. They tend to have a little fallout when you dip your brush into them, but I can handle that because they apply to the lids beautifully. OH! and did I mention they’re extremely pigmented, too? Like…hats off, Tarte.

These are swatched on my forearm without primer. With primer, of course, they look more true-to-color and last all day.

IMG_0007

I did the swatches in groups of four, like how they are in the palette. The first four are the first row, the everyday browns. The second four are the gray-ish purples (which I’ve worn several times and have gotten multiple compliments, score!) in the second row. The last four are the classic smokey gray-black shades.

The palette is $44 on the Tarte website. I bought mine at Ulta with a 20% off coupon and it was worth every penny. LOVE. IT.

IMG_0008

The first and second rows of the palette.

IMG_0009

The second and last rows of the palette.

Do you own this palette? What are your thoughts?

21 thoughts on “NEW Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Eyeshadow Palette w/ Swatches

  1. marikalexia says:

    Wow, I’m glad you love it, I couldn’t stand it! I worked a Tarte event and had to give makeovers using this palette and it was just not my fav… 😦 I felt like I really had to work and go over, and over, and over to get them to blend properly. It shouldn’t be that hard 😫

    Like

    • Meredith says:

      Really?! What a bummer! I don’t think they’re the best matte shadows I’ve ever used, but it’s nice to have an all-matte palette to have on hand. That stinks, though!
      P.S. Do you like working at Ulta? I’ve applied a few times but never really called to go further…

      Like

      • marikalexia says:

        Yeah, I love all-mattes, I’m excited to try the one Too Faced just came out with.

        I LOVE working at Ulta, it’s the best job I’ve ever had…actually, LUSH was probably the most fun, but incredibly stressful, so yeah, Ulta is definitely the best. I love getting to play with and do makeup all day and be surrounded by it and great people….I learn a ton! But, your paychecks can easily turn into gift cards, haha, so be careful! It’s definitely worth a shot if you’re interested!

        Like

  2. Kaily says:

    I was not expecting to love this palette as much as I did. I found that some shades were a bit patchy at first but once I played with them a little more that changed. This is probably the best palette Tarte has ever produced. It’s def the best matte palette ever IMO.

    Like

    • Meredith says:

      I agreeee! I think especially the darker shades, which you can kinda see in my pictures.
      Some more matte shadows you should check out (if you’re into totally matte eyeshadows) is the Sonia Kashuk Eye on Couture matte palette. It’s only $20 at Target and it’s amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

